Grandma Libby’s Catalina Swimsuit in Country Living Magazine

Today was (sadly) the unofficial end of summer. What better way to give her one last hurrah than with a little vintage swimwear post!

Country Living Magazine is one of my faves and they often have vintage specific content that I just can’t get enough of. While recently going through some old issues, I spotted a very familiar swimsuit staring back at me from an article on collecting vintage bathing suits. Lo and behold, it was my grandmother Libby’s fabulous floral one-piece by Catalina! I always loved that picture of her standing with my great grandmother in the Coney Island surf.

According to the article, the suit dates to the 1940’s and at the time, cost $15.00. It is now estimated to be worth $500.00! Too bad I don’t have it anymore. Although I’d probably try to wear it rather than sell it, even though it would never fit me, (grandma had a bombshell body! LOL)

While doing a little research on Catalina, I managed to find a great advertisement featuring the very same bathing suit in question not to mention countless others. They certainly had some amazing swimwear back then. If only we could turn back the hands of time, sigh…

Here’s grandma’s exact swimsuit in a 1940’s advertisement!

So cool 🙂

Until next time, Dolls!

XOXO

7 thoughts on “Grandma Libby’s Catalina Swimsuit in Country Living Magazine

  1. I GREW UP IN THE CATALINA ERA. VERY CLASSY, COMFORTABLE, AND BEAUTIFUL BUT THERE AGAIN, GIRLS IN GENERAL HAD MUCH BETTER FIGURES IN THOSE DAYS!

Leave a comment