It’s Personal: Cancer…a four letter word.

tumblr_lxi06pHe7k1qa70eyo1_500

 

Many of you know that I had been having some knee pain for the last couple of months. Like any normal person, I assumed it was from too much bicycling or that I had at worst torn a ligament or something of that nature. Unfortunately, after discovering a mass on my tibia bone in an X-ray , it appeared to be something a bit more substantial than a typical sports injury. The day after New Years I had a biopsy and last Thursday I was informed that I have cancer. 

The good news is that it is stage one and is fairly small and confined to the one area of bone. The team of oncologists I have been seeing are confident that my cancer (osteosarcoma) it is both curable and treatable and have mapped out a 7-9 month road to recovery for me.

At 31 years old, I can honestly say that I never thought I would be saying that I have cancer, but here we are. While the prognosis is excellent, the treatment isn’t easy. I had my first round of Chemotherapy on Tuesday and I know that I have many more to go. Am I scared? Yeah. Can I do it? While it seems daunting, I have to believe that yes, yes I can. More importantly, that I will and I must. While I’ve had issues with confidence throughout my life, I am not ready to lay down and give up here. Failure is not an option. I will persevere and I will get though this, no matter what. After spending years being afraid to live I realize that living is the only thing I really want to do, and I will. I cannot let cancer scare me into submission. It’s time to put on my gloves and start fighting. 

Since the treatments have been very time-consuming and physically taxing, I am not sure how often I will be posting content on the blog. I hope that y’all will forgive me as I need to shift all of my focus onto healing. When this is all over, I promise to be back and better than ever. Thank you all for your support this past year, I appreciate you all very much. If you need me, I will be kicking cancer in the ass 😉

XOXO

DD

15 thoughts on “It’s Personal: Cancer…a four letter word.

  1. Wow I am completely stunned right now with sadness for you and your family. I have not met you yet but feel you are part of my family. My prayers are going out to you for strength. They say the mind is a powerful healer of the body. Keep strong and you will look back at this someday and say “I beat Cancer and I can do anything”
    Love,
    Ramona

  2. As always, you are in our thoughts and we hope for a speedy and painless recovery. If there is anything Michal, Joshua or I can do to get you through this, please don’t Hesitate to reach out to us, we are here for you.

  3. You are such a strong, amazing woman. This post is fabulous – I know you will persevere through this, and come out better than ever! As I’ve said in our conversations, I am here for you, whether it be just to bitch or cry, or if you feel too tired from the chemo to get food or whatnot. Seriously – use me and abuse me 🙂 LOL.

    Now go kick that cancer’s ass!

    -Holly

  4. I’m so sorry to hear this. Be strong! I’m glad they caught it early for you. I hope the chemo isn’t too much. I can see how you were shocked. You think cancer normally happens to older people. Thoughts and prayers directed your way..

  5. Sara my friend,
    You are in my prayers, and you will get through this. You’re a beautiful young woman with a lot of spirit and life! Take care of yourself and please let me know if I can help in any way…I mean it!

  6. Kicking cancer in the ass!! Now that’s the spirit 🙂 You’re a tough cookie and I know that you’ll come out of this stronger than ever…

  7. Sara Sweetie – Firstly – I send my LOVE . It’s not fair that you have to go through this at such a tender age but this experience will serve to put life into perspective like no other I can think of. I’ve survived breast cancer ( never lost my hair through chemo and radiation – in fact it never looked better…. weird but true ) and came close to cervical cancer ( nothing a hysterectomy couldn’t cure). It’s scary but you are a gal of great character – you WILL kick it in the ass ! My thoughts are with you funny girl 🙂 Momma Rachel

  8. I love you Sara. If anyone can have a positive attitude in the face of something like this, it is you. And I know this experience will only make you more wise and beautiful, if that’s even possible.

    ❤ I'm here, always, if you or your family need anything at all.

    Mwa,
    Elena

Leave a Reply

