Snood, Glorious Snood!

Snoods are truly a wonderful little slice of vintage heaven! While they were most popular during the 1940’s circa WWII, these gems have been around for ages, (no seriously, since like the middle ages!). What exactly is a snood? It is defined as an ornamental hairnet or fabric bag worn over the hair at the back of a woman’s head. They come in a variety of colours and materials and can be used both casually and for more formal occasions. I have had a love affair with the snood for many years now and whenever I see one in a colour I don’t have, I snatch it up and add it to my collection! They are a lovely, affordable way to add vintage flourish to any look! 

Check out some of the amazing vintage photos I found of 1940’s glamour gals and their must have hair accouterments of the decade!

Here I am sporting an electric blue snood I picked up at a local 99 cents store for $1.49!

 Can I tell you how thrilled I am to finally be able to pin curl my bangs! I’ve been growing out my Betty bangs since the spring and they have been driving me bananas! Every morning I wake up looking like James Cagney! LOL

 I love how it magically holds all of your hair in place making everything appear neat and streamlined. Nothing beats beautiful and practical! In fact, their popularity during war-time stemmed from women working in factories. They wore snoods to keep their hair from getting caught in the machinery! Ouch!

 Side view! There is just something about a snood that says 1940’s glamour to me!

 Dig my vintage 80’s romper? How ’bout my vintage 60’s rhinestone earrings? They are for sale and can be yours! Check out my Etsy shop to purchase these and other fine vintage fare!

Get your very own snood direct from Patricia Fields by clicking here!

Until next time, Dolls!

XOXO

4 thoughts on “Snood, Glorious Snood!

Leave a Reply

