Marilyn Monroe: 50th Anniversary of her Death

It’s hard to believe that Marilyn has been gone for over 5 decades, but that’s probably because she never really left us. At the tender age of 36, Marilyn lost her life and in doing so, she became an indisputable icon and one of the most celebrated actresses of all time. 

While she only made 30 films in her short career, they were some of the greatest pictures of the 20th century. From her breakout performance in “All About Eve” to her final role in the unfinished “Somethings Got to Give”, Marilyn turned Hollywood on its ear, lighting up the silver screen with her unique personality and regal good looks. 

Marilyn’s on set wardrobes always floored me. She could make anything look amazing with her notoriously shapely figure and glamorous persona. I thought instead of mourning her on the 50th anniversary of her death, I would showcase some of her most stunning ensembles in my favorite of her films. 

1959’s “Some Like it Hot” is easily one of THE greatest movies of all time! I can’t help but laugh out loud every time I watch it (and Lord knows I’ve watched it 100 times!). The black beaded cocktail dress she wore while singing “I’m Through with Love” was down right scandalous! The sheer illusion panel in combination with the strategic bead placement on her bust left very little to the imagination! She was never more sultry than she was in that LBD, sitting on that Piano, wringing her opera length gloves as she crooned! 

In 1953’s  “Gentlemen Prefer Blondes”, Monroe starred opposite fellow screen siren Jane Russel playing the lovely Lorelei Lee. I know, I know, everyone always remembers her in the classic pink dress and gloves, but my favorite look in this film has got to be her leopard print outfit! That muff! That hat! That cape! Need I say more?!

Wardrobe screen test shot

Cozying up to Tommy Noonan

In 1953’s “How to Marry a Millionaire”, the wardrobe for Marilyn’s character is to die for. Each outfit is better than the next, it’s hard to pick a favorite! I have to say that I love her in her cat eye glasses. According to Miss Pola Debevoise, “Men aren’t attentive to girls who wear glasses.” Well, I can think of a million men who would wholeheartedly disagree! 

Meow!

In 1955’s “The Seven Year Itch”, Marilyn had her most noteworthy fashion moment of her career, creating an image that would forever be identified with her and her alone. While the white halter dress is beyond legendary, my favorite outfit she wore in this film was the polka-dot wiggle dress! She looked absolutely A-M-A-Z-I-N-G! 

In 1953’s “Niagara”, Marilyn literally blew us away in that little pink dress. When she slowly walked across that lot, all eyes were fixated on her! She was the epitome of femininity! As she wiggled her way from her hotel room door to the record player, hearts were heard breaking around the globe! 

Marilyn, you are missed! While you are often imitated, you will NEVER be duplicated! R.I.P. 

XOXO

4 thoughts on “Marilyn Monroe: 50th Anniversary of her Death

  1. Pingback: My fantasy interview: all about Marilyn Monroe in her own words « We Heart Vintage

Leave a Reply

