Topsy Turban!

One of my favorite go-to accessories in the summer months is a turban! These babies are truly magnificent at covering up a bad hair day or keeping all of your hair off of your neck and shoulders when the mercury starts rising. There’s just something about a turban that always looks chic and glamorous. Many of old Hollywood’s elite have been photographed wearing this timeless head adornment since the early turn of the century.Today, turbans seem to be as popular as ever, appearing in high-end designer collections and shops big and small worldwide. Most recently, model Karolina Kurkova wore a showstopping sequined number designed by Rachel Zoe to the MET’s annual Costume Gala. I loved how perfectly it coordinated with her equally amazing gown!

Here are some great shots of some of my favorite screen sirens rockin’ their turbans in pure vintage style! Take a look 😀

Gloria Swanson

Carole Lombard

Joan Crawford

Marlene Dietrich

Hedy Lamarr (My fave 😉

Lena Horne

Lucille Ball

Carmen Miranda

Lana Turner in “The Postman Always Rings Twice”

Grace Kelly

Sofia Loren

Last but not least, here I am sporting my favorite hot pink turban! I bought this at my local beauty supply store a few years back for only $2.99! I am always amazed at how this little piece of fabric can hold all of my waist length hair! For an extra splash of whimsy, I pinned a vintage rhinestone brooch to the center.

You can find inexpensive turbans at most beauty supply shops in your neck of the woods or check out Patricia Fieids’ site for a wide color assortment that can be shipped to your door for under $20.00 😉

Until next time, Dolls!

XOXO

Leave a Reply

