Brooklyn Bombshells!

What do Clara Bow, Mae West, Rita Hayworth, Lauren Bacall, Gene Tierney, Lena Horne and Barbara Stanwyck have in common? They were all born in Brooklyn, New York!

These ladies are the pride and joy of Brooklyn, each one a rare talent (not to mention beauty!) with a unique Hollywood legacy. From being the first African-American actress to break into major motion pictures to being the most noted female actress of the silent era. 

All seven of these Brooklyn Bombshells prove that talent and determination can bring great success, no matter where you come from or how humble your beginnings. Let their stories inspire you to achieve greatness in your own lives as they inspire me.

“I approached everything, my job, my family, my romances, with intensity.” ~Gene Tierney

“Imagination is the highest kite one can fly.” ~ Lauren Bacall

“Put me in the last fifteen minutes of a picture and I don`t care what happened before. I don`t even care if I was IN the rest of the damned thing – I`ll take it in those fifteen minutes.” ~ Barbara Stanwyck 

Before Clara was known as The “It” Girl, she was called the “Brooklyn Bombshell.”

“I don’t have to be an imitation of a white woman that Hollywood sort of hoped I’d become. I’m me, and I’m like nobody else.” ~ Lena Horne

“A dame that knows the ropes isn’t likely to get tied up.” ~ Mae West

“We are all tied to our destiny and there is no way we can liberate ourselves.” ~ Rita Hayworth 

Leave a Reply

